Crop & Soil Sciences

Gaylon S. Campbell Distinguished Professorship in Environmental Biophysics

The Gaylon S. Campbell Distinguished Professorship was created to honor the 27-year career of Professor Campbell as a faculty member at Washington State University. Washington State University is world renowned for its contributions to soil and environmental physics, partially through Dr. Campbell’s contributions. Two textbooks written by Dr. Campbell, one on soil physics and one […]

Washington Turfgrass Seed Commission Professorship

The growers of turfgrass seed in Washington voted to establish the Washington Turfgrass Seed Commission for the purposes of funding research in the production, processing or distribution of turfgrass seed- collecting and disseminating information on turfgrass seed and turfgrass seed by-products, and establishing and conducting programs to promote the use of turfgrass seed and byproducts, […]

Robert A. Nilan Endowed Chair in Barley Research and Education

Dr. Robert “Bob” Nilan arrived at WSU in 1951 as an agronomist and plant geneticist, and became internationally recognized when he developed the high-yield barley variety “Steptoe” in 1968. His achievements in barley genetics were honored with an appointment to the prestigious Danish Academy of Science in 1986. He served as chair of the department […]

John P. Reganold Endowed Chair in Organic and Sustainable Agriculture

Chuck and Louanna Eggert graduated from Washington State University (WSU) in 1971, Chuck with a degree in Food Science and Louanna a degree in Education. Since leaving WSU, Chuck and Louanna have raised a family of 5 children, and created Pacific Natural Foods, the family business. The Eggert’ s have been very generous supporters of […]

Endowed Chair in Small Grains Extension and Research

The Washington Grain Commission (WGC), effective July 27, 2009, was created through state legislation by merging the Washington Wheat Commission (WWC) and the Washington Barley Commission (WBC). Toe WWC and WBC were originally created by producers in 1958 and 1985, respectively, to fund industry research, education and marketing self-help programs through assessments on each bushel […]

Endowed Chair in Tree Fruit Soil and Rhizosphere Ecology

The WTFRC was established by the Washington State legislature in 1969. The WTFRC mission is to promote and carry on research and administer specific industry service programs, which will or may benefit the planting, production, harvesting, handling, processing or shipment of tree fruit in Washington. Uses and Purposes Distributions from this Fund shall be used […]

R. James Cook Endowed Chair in Wheat Research

This endowed chair was established by the Washington Grain Commission to honor R. James Cook, distinguished scientist, member of the National Academy of Sciences, and recipient of the prestigious Wolf Prize for Agriculture. His research interests include wheat and barley root disease, ecology of soil borne plant pathogens, biological control, agricultural biotechnology and development of […]

Endowed Chair in Soil Health for Potato Cropping Systems

The Columbia Basin Potato Soil Health Workgroup (CBPSHW), a coalition of the Washington State Potato Commission; Lamb Weston, Incorporated; McCain Foods USA, Incorporated; and J.R. Simplot Company; and others, was formed with the expressed purpose to “Facilitate coordination of soil health research as it pertains to potato cropping systems to improve soil health understanding and […]